FINAL FRONT COVER AND DOUBLE PAGE SPREAD

Why are my images suitable for Numéro Magazine:

When choosing images for my Magazine cover, I had the choice between two different narratives. I explored two narratives, one being ´Jungle Béton (Concrete Jungle)’ and ‘Jumeaux (Twins). After completing both photo shoots, the latter matched Numéro’s understated edge and cool vibe better, related to the ethos of the magazine being for ’strong, independent women’ as well as the idea matching a magazine that is a ‘secular alternative to Vogue’. The image I have chosen for my front and middle page spread are all from the same photoshoot, with the same photographer and styling influences. This creates a synergy between the front cover and the double page spread as my images are cohesive and consistent and my narrative of ‘exploring female power, support and sexuality’ is consistently addressed through them. My narrative of using two models, as well as focusing on a broad topic like feminism relates to the Numéro reader. Numéro have ran many different editorials including two models, and so my images of two models match the Numéro aesthetic.

The location of my images was inside, against a plain wall and on stairs. Each background was relatively plain, matching to Numéro editorial images. The background of the front cover image is plain which is typical of a Numéro cover.  My images were taken inside, which meant that we used LED Bulb lighting and some natural daylight as lighting for the shoot. The lighting of the images is quite bright and contrasted – especially when the images are transformed into a black and white composition, with the black clothing and model’s elements standing out spectacularly. The lighting of my shoot is like the lighting used in other Numéro covers. The angle of the front cover image is a front-facing shot focusing on the upper body of the models whilst the double-page spread image angles are from a lower angle, creating an illusion of a longer lower body, creating an emphasising effect. Both camera angles are used by photographers such as Anthony Maule in editorials of Numéro, which is why these images fit well.

The clothing (styling) and direction of these images is very typical of a Numéro editorial shoot, with many in past issues being simply styled, with an aesthetic/ theme of black. The images I have chosen are a suitable choice because of the imitated styling and noticeably directed and choreographed images typically seen. The poses and expressions of the models are quite strong and solid – for example, almost all Numéro covers feature model/s staring into the viewer of the magazine. My front cover image is appropriate as it uses this technique, and through my research is the most impactful technique to a Numéro reader.

The colouration of my images are in black and white. This works well with my magazine as almost each issue includes a black and white tutorial, with over 60% of the Issue covers being in black and white. Therefore, the colouration of my images is suitable for my magazine.

The double-page spread images are quite edgy and different and encompass the flirty and risqué side of Numéro. These images were directly inspired by Anthony Maule and Charles Varenne, who have photographed, directed and styled many Numéro shoots, so, I know that using my images inspired by their techniques would match the magazines ‘look’.

FRONT COVER:

 

FINAL COVER PAGE
Front Cover

 

Double-Page Spread:

 

DOUBLE PAGE FINAL
Double Page Spread

Leave a comment